Fudgy Avocado Brownies

Totally sticking with my weird ingredients obsession theme for this recipe. Avocado; the rich and delicious fruit I only really discovered I liked around a year ago but their versatility means I fit them into a huge range of dishes nowadays, from pasta sauces (try this!!) to salads to smoothies and even my baking! The fat content and creamy texture of avocado makes them an ideal flavoursome butter substitute, especially when aiming for a fudgier or chewier consistency for brownies or American-style cookies!

IMG_0740.JPG

Ingredients

  • 200 g avocado flesh
  • 100 ml honey or 100 g brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 100 g dark cocoa powder
  • 100 g wholemeal flour
  • 80 g quality dark chocolate
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tbsp espresso
  • Pinch of salt
  • (I also added a handful of chopped dates to up the sweetness!)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 175C and thoroughly grease a medium non-stick baking tin.
  2. Mash up the avocado flesh until as smooth as possible in a large mixing bowl then mix in the sugar or honey.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the mix; eggs, vanilla extract & coffee and carefully mix everything together.
  4. Set aside and combine all dry ingredients in a separate bowl; cocoa powder, whole wheat flour, salt & baking powder.
  5. Add dry ingredient into wet ingredients, gently stir just till it just combines (plus the dates if desired). Then pour into the prepped tin, spreading the surface of the mixture with a spatula for an even bake.
  6. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. Check after 25, the centre should be just about firm.
  7. Remove from the oven, allow to cool on a wire rack and devour at will!

IMG_0742.JPG

6 thoughts on “Fudgy Avocado Brownies

  1. I absolutely love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own website and would
    like to know where you got this from or just what the theme is named.
    Cheers!

    Like

  2. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any helpful hints for beginner blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it. http://www.azdikcaara.com/author/lenorebalco/

    Like

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d
    certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for
    book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about
    this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    Like

Leave a comment