Treated to Pancakes!

insta pancakes

 

Its shameful, but my house completely missed pancake day. I was the only one in and making pancakes for one is way too much effort and slightly depressing! So last night we made a dinner party of it. Emma is pancake queen, having perfected the art of American/Scotch pancakes, both savoury and sweet so we enjoyed two sumptuous courses. The first was savoury, with cheese, onion and grilled tomatoes, some salad and hummus to top it off. The second; smoked bacon and maple syrup (match made in heaven!) with greek yoghurt and honey. Both were amazing and just what was needed as an end of the week treat! Here’s the recipe to serve 4-6:

Ingredients

  • 135g/4¾oz plain flour

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • ½ tsp salt

  • 2 tbsp caster sugar

  • 130ml/4½fl oz milk

  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

  • 2 tbsp melted butter (allowed to cool slightly) or olive oil, plus extra for cooking

Method

  1. Sift the flour, baking powder, salt and caster sugar into a large bowl. In a separate bowl or jug, lightly whisk together the milk and egg, then whisk in the melted butter.Flour
  2. Pour the milk mixture into the flour mixture and, using a fork, beat until you have a smooth batter. Any lumps will soon disappear with a little mixing. Let the batter stand for a few minutes (see the bubbles? Be careful not to whisk them away!).bubble
  3. Heat a non-stick frying pan over a medium heat and add a knob of butter. When it’s melted, add a ladle of batter (or two if your frying pan is big enough to cook two pancakes at the same time). It will seem very thick but this is how it should be. Wait until the top of the pancake begins to bubble, then turn it over and cook until both sides are golden brown and the pancake has risen to about 1cm (½in) thick.pour
  4. Repeat until all the batter is used up. You can keep the pancakes warm in a low oven, but they taste best fresh out the pan.
  5. Serve with anything you like but I seriously recommend to combinations mentioned above.

And most of all, have a laugh while you’re cooking them! 🙂

em

7 thoughts on “Treated to Pancakes!

  1. Such is the crappy busyness (is that how you spell that) of work I have only just read the email saying you commented on my blog when you wrote this! Apparently I haven’t turned my laptop on since the 21st February, I don’t think it’s ever been turned off for that long! Anyway I love this post and the gap year one above, very excited for you going off travelling and exploring the world! I will be stuck in Southampton so will have to live vicariously through you 🙂 Wonderful blogging as ever my dear, I need to sort mine out so that it’s looking as good as yours!

    Like

  2. Ӏt is the best tie to make a few plаns for the lοnger term and it is time to bᥱ happy.
    I’ve learn this suƅmit and iff I may juist
    I dᥱsire to suggeѕt you few attention-grabbing things oor
    tips. Ӎaybe you could write suƄsequent articles
    relating to this article. I wish tto learn more things abօut
    it!

    Like

  3. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and
    say I really enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other
    blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Appreciate it!

    Like

  4. I just like the valuable information you supply for your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here
    frequently. I am slightly certain I’ll learn plenty of
    new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  5. The fact that you even know the shoe size of
    Ms. Joni (hope I got the spelling right), shows how much
    you really care for her, buying even 2 shoes for her, grabe, God bless you sir napakacheerful giver mo
    No wonder you receive so much blessings eh, you know
    how to give back and bless those who are around you.Ps.
    Akin na lang cat nyo sir

    Like

Leave a comment