Double Chocolate Melting-Middle Muffins

20170725_073915Yeah I had a day where I needed chocolate. Not “here’s a little piece of dark chocolate which is good for you small amounts” but proper full-on chocolate overload. So I decided on double dark chocolate muffins…stuffed with ‘Nutella’…which oozes out the sides when you take a bite. Yes I will be going to the gym tomorrow!

I’m writing the very last bits of my Masters thesis this week and as per usual I turn to baking ridiculous things to relax and reward myself when I’m wired and tired. I like baking things though because, while I enjoy the process of making, being creative and even writing up the recipes, I also love that other people will enjoy them. While you might say I enjoy making other people podgy, it’s more that I hope people enjoy the home-made aspect, and it drives me to make them better than those which can be bought at the local supermarket, because otherwise, what’s the point in waiting for me to bake them?

Anyway…THE MUFFINS! These are a fun bake, easy but a little care needed to get that fantastic, ballooning top and some fun little steps to accomplish to get that lovely gooey centre. Serve these straight away, fresh and warm or take them to work and share around (if you don’t eat them all yourself). BUT pop them in the microwave for 10 seconds first if you can, there’s something about the lava consistency of the chocolate spread in the middle when they are just warmed…delicious!

20170724_184942

Ingredients (makes 10-12)

200g plain flour
100g soft brown sugar
100g quality cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
100g dark chocolate chips
2 medium eggs at room temp
100ml vegetable oil
200ml semi-skim or whole milk (I used oat milk!)
A tub of Nutella or similar chocolate spread (you won’t use all of it I promise!)


Method

Preheat the oven to 200C/ 180C fan/Gas mark 5 and prep your 12 hole muffin tray with 12 large muffin cases, then set aside for later on.

In a large bowl sift in the flour, cocoa and baking powders to remove any lumps then combine the sugar and set aside.

In a seperate bowl or measuring jug whisk the eggs until slightly lighter and homogenous. Add the vegetable oil and whisk well again until combined and small bubbles are beginning to form. Finally, add the milk and whisk again. Finally, pour the wet ingredients into the dry, add the chocolate chunks, then stir with a wooden spoon until just combined. You don’t want to overwork it or the bubbles will begin to leave the wet ingredients.

Fill each of the 12 muffin cases to just under half way, then soon 1 heaped teaspoon of Nutella into the centres, then pour the rest of the muffin batter over the top.

Bake in the centre of the preheated oven for approximately 17 minutes, but check at this point by inserting a toothpick or skewer just offset from the melting middle to make sure it comes out clean. Once cooked, remove from the oven and cool for around 20 minutes (don’t burn your mouths on the hot Nutella!) on a wire rack before eating devouring.

One thought on “Double Chocolate Melting-Middle Muffins

Leave a Reply

