Lamb Biryani

I would love to go back to India! It’s so vibrant and crazy, with delicious food and lovely people. I travelled to Bangalore in 2012 with my friend Megha before she was due to start medical school out in Mysore and it was an amazing experience. I especially loved Mysore, tucked in the rural hills of Karnataka with a huge beautiful palace to explore. I’ll go again as soon as I can but at the moment I like to at least cook a few of the dishes that remind me of those few weeks. Megha’s mum, Veena actually explained this recipe to me (albeit a slightly more complicated version!) when I was 17 because I loved it so much!

312.JPG

Lamb Biryani

Ingredients

  • 220g basmati rice
  • 250g diced lamb shoulder
  • 1 white onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 to 3 tbsp of your favourite curry paste (depends on your heat preference)
  • 1 small sweet potato, diced
  • 550ml lamb stock
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp garam marsala spice

To serve:

  • Drizzle of honey
  • Chopped coriander

 Method

Preheat the oven to 200C, gas mark 6 and grab your chopping board. thinly sliced the onion and dice the peeled sweet potato.

Heat 1 tbsp of veggie oil in a large, ovenproof casserole dish till really hot then throw in the onions. Once softened, add the lamb and spice paste to infuse the flavours. After a few minutes, add the sweet potato, rice and ground spices with a touch more oil.

After a couple of minutes, add the hot stock, cover the dish and bake for around 30 minutes until the rice is tender, slightly crispy on top and the stock is absorbed. When serving, drizzle over a touch of honey or a few raisins or dried apricots and scatter over a generous helping of coriander.

Leave a Reply

