Finding Time: 30-Day Challenges

I love being busy. Dare I say it I verge on the side of actually enjoying exam time sometimes because I sit down and I always have something to do! I also really enjoy a cracker of a challenge: I never thought I would actually keep a blog or run a half marathon or (hopefully) do well in my degree whilst maintaining some semblance of sanity but I tried and you know what, people can surprise themselves, usually more often than they give themselves the credit for. The problem is once a challenge is up, I’m always looking for another to keep me occupied and happy. Admittedly I would probably be a lot more productive if I spent a fraction of the time I do on social media and other blogs but I did stumble across The Everygirl, a Goop style website regularly posting about culture, career advice, fashion & beauty, wellness, travel and healthy living. ALL THE BEST THINGS. Well they are a little lacking in the inventive recipe department but I suppose I can forgive them that one small faux pas.

teg_30days

Anyway, one column is the ’30-day challenge’, a monthly addition focussed on boosting ‘wellness’, health and happiness. The ideas are simplistic and totally do-able ranging from saving money with mini-DIY projects to  drinking more water to enhance complexions and concentration levels. This month is the 10,000+ steps a day challenge to throw away the obsessions with trendy and often expensive work-out fads claiming to grab a beach-bod in 10 seconds in favour of simply moving more and sleeping better with an achievable daily routine. My personal favourite has to be the 30-days of motivated mornings! This month I’ve been setting my alarm 30 minutes earlier than normal and making time to do the things I’ve been neglecting throughout the day. How long has it been since you really got stuck into a good novel, baked some bread, had a real breakfast or worked up a sweat on a jog in the morning sunshine? I realised that although I hadn’t been lazy, but substituting a lie-in for scrambled eggs and a Ted-talk or a comedy show actually made my morning, which often made my day.

You can probably guess by now that food, exercise and messing about with my camera featured pretty darn high on my list of achievements with my added time and I loved it! I still saw my friends, slept well and got my work done but all of these things were properly appreciated because I put down my phone, ignored social media and made the time. Everygirl’s post ended: ‘It’s the little things in life that can do wonders for reducing stress, and we’re all about finding ways to maximize on our mood.’

IMG_0079
IMG_0004
imageimage

#TEG30DayChallenge

3 thoughts on “Finding Time: 30-Day Challenges

  1. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be
    running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting
    issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem
    fixed soon. Kudos

    Like

  2. Hi, I do believe this is a great web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return once again since I bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

